Membership

Members of the Combined Fire Authority will:

Make informed decisions in relation to Service policy and strategy aligned to the Authority’s vision, priorities, objectives and values.
Approve the Service’s budget and ensure they receive sufficient money from local council tax.
Monitor the Service’s performance to ensure it is efficient, effective and economical.
Appoint the following positions:

Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive
Clerk to the Fire Authority
Treasurer to the Fire Authority
Principal Officers

Act as the final level of appeal in employee disciplinary and grievance procedures

 

Elected members

Members of the Combined Fire Authority are elected from each of the two authorities. The number of members for each authority is determined by the size of the electoral representation within each authority. The Fire Authority’s political balance is also a reflection of that of the two local authorities. Below is the Membership which was last updated 3 January 2019.

Elected Members—Durham County Councillors

Cllr John Robinson
Chair - Labour
03000 268 764
john.robinson@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Audrey Laing
Vice Chair - Labour
03000 268 734
audrey.laing@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Brian Avery
Independent
03000 268 677
brian.avery@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Alison Batey
Labour
03000 268 678
a.batey@durham.gov.uk

Cllr David Bell
Labour
03000 268 680
dbell@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Jennifer Bell
Labour
03000 268 682
jennifer.bell@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Richard Bell
Conservative
03000 268 683
richard.bell@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Colin Carr
Labour
03000 268 692
colin.carr@durham.gov.uk

Cllr David Freeman
Liberal Democrat
03000 268 709
david.freeman@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Derek Hicks
Independent
03000 268 722
derek.hicks@durham.gov.uk

Joyce Maitland 
03000 268 740
Email:  joyce.maitland@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Richard Manchester
Labour
03000 268 719
richard.mancheste@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Linda Marshall
Labour
03000 268 742
linda.marshall@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Christine Potts
Labour
03000 268 761
christine.potts@durham.gov.uk

Cllr George Richardson
Conservative
03000 268 763
george.richardson@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Elizabeth Scott
Labour
03000 268 725
elizabeth.scott@durham.gov.uk

Cllr John Shuttleworth
Independent
03000 268 770
john.shuttleworth@durham.gov.uk

Cllr David Stoker
Liberal Democrat
07971 963877
david.stoker@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Fraser Tinsley
Labour
03000 268 691
fraser.tinsley@durham.gov.uk

Cllr John Turnbull
Labour
03000 268 785
john.turnbull@durham.gov.uk

Elected Members—Darlington Borough Councillors

Cllr Helen Crumbie
Labour
01325 462642
helen.crumbie@darlington.gov.uk

Cllr Brian Jones
Conservative
01325 332820
brian.jones@darlington.gov.uk

Cllr Gerald Lee
Conservative 
01325 314622
gerald.lee@darlington.gov.uk

Cllr Andrew Scott
Labour
01325 253707
Andrew.scott@darlington.gov.uk

Key Advisors to the Authority

Stuart Errington
Chief Fire Officer 
0191 3755555

Tony Hope
Treasurer
0191 3755558

Helen Lynch
Clerk and Monitoring Officer 
03000 269732

Combined Fire and Rescue Authority Meetings

The Authority meets on a regular basis. Members of the public are welcome at all meetings. For further information visit our website www.ddfire.gov.uk or contact the Governance Team on 0191 3755581.

 

Links to Councillor websites:

Councillor John Robinson - CHAIR - Durham County Council - Labour

Councillor Audrey Laing – VICE CHAIR – Durham County Council – Labour

Councillor Brian Avery - Durham County Council - Independent

Councillor Alison Batey - Durham County Council - Labour

Councillor David Bell – Durham County Council - Labour

Councillor Jennifer Bell – Durham County Council - Labour

Councillor Peter Brookes - Durham County Council - Labour

Councillor Colin Carr – Durham County Council - Labour

Councillor Helen Crumbie - Darlington Borough Council - Labour

Councillor Alan Gardner - Durham County Council - Independent

Councillor Derek Hicks - Durham County Council - Independent

Councillor Paul Howell - Durham County Council - Conservative

Councillor Charles Johnson - Darlington Borough Council - Conservative

Councillor Brian Jones - Darlington Borough Council - Conservative

Councillor Linda Marshall – Durham County Council - Labour

Councillor Henry Nicholson - Durham County Council - Labour 

Councillor Christine Potts – Durham County Council - Labour

Councillor George Richardson – Durham County Council - Conservative

Councillor John Shuttleworth - Durham County Council - Independent 

Councillor Mamie Simmons - Durham County Council - Liberal Democrat

Councillor Sue Richmond – Darlington Borough Council - Labour

Councillor Watts Stelling - Durham County Council - Independent

Councillor David Stoker - Durham County Council - Liberal Democrat

Councillor Fraser Tinsley - Durham County Council - Labour

Councillor John Turnbull – Durham County Council - Labour