Service Leadership Team

The Service Leadership Team (SLT) provide the senior executive officer function within the Service.

The Fire and Rescue Authority delegates to the SLT, the effective management of the organisation and its resources, the delivery of the primary corporate, operational and support services and the execution of the statutory responsibilities.

Senior Leadership Team



Responsible for

Reports to

Stuart Errington, Chief Fire Officer


Combined Fire Authority

Steve Helps, Deputy Chief Fire Officer

Emergency Response; Community Risk Management and CDDFRS

Chief Fire Officer

Sarah Nattrass, Assistant Chief Fire Officer

Assets and Assurance; People and Organisational Development and CDDFRS

Chief Fire Officer

Tony Hope, Deputy Chief Executive and Treasurer

Strategic Finance and CDDFRS

Chief Fire Officer

Steve Wharton, Area Manager Emergency Response

Emergency Response; Resilience Planning; Stations; Flexible Duty Officers; Control

Deputy Chief Fire Officer

Keith Wanley, Area Manager Community Risk Management

Business Fire Safety; Community Safety; Information Services

Deputy Chief Fire Officer

Keith Lazzari, Head of Corporate Resources

Transactional Finance; Governance; Communications; ICT; Estates and Facilities Management; Emergency Services Mobile Communications Programme

Deputy Chief Executive

Keith Carruthers, Area Manager Assets and Assurance

Assets; Assurance; Health & Safety; Business Continuity; Business Support & Improvement

Assistant Chief Fire Officer

Katherine Metcalfe, Head of People and Organisation Development  

Human Resources; Organisational Development; Training

Assistant Chief Fire Officer

In the interests of transparency and accountability the Service Leadership Team seek approval for and declare their membership/involvement with outside bodies. This can be viewed on the register below:

Register of Outside Commitments: 

For detailed information in respect of the top three levels of the organisation follow the link below:

Service Leadership Team salary details of first three levels

Service Leadership Team Biographies