Newton Aycliffe Fire Station

Image
Newton Aycliffe Station
Address

Central Avenue
Newton Aycliffe
DL5 5QH
United Kingdom

Telephone
01325 312531
    Crewing Arrangements
    Day Crewing and On-call Firefighters
    Management Team

    Group Manager: 

    Phil Innis pinnis@ddfire.gov.uk

    Divisional Managers: 

    Malcolm Woodward mwoodward@ddfire.gov.uk

    Colin Davis cdavis@ddfire.gov.uk

    Graeme Metcalf gmetcalf@ddfire.gov.uk

     

    RDS Support Officer:

    Jonathan Robinson jrobinson@ddfire.gov.uk

    Fire Safety Officer

    Amy Davison              07776225537 - adavison@ddfire.gov.uk 

     

    Community Safety Support

    Please contact our Community Safety Team on 0345 2234221

    District Profile

    Image
    station plan 06-22 na

     

    Station Boundary Map

    1961
    A new station was opened in Newton Aycliffe. The station had a bay garage. The station was crewed using a day-manning system and as a result houses for the crew were built. The opening of the station enabled the closure of the old fire station.

    1963
    The drill tower was erected

    1970
    The appliance bay previously used by the ambulance service was acquired and in addition an extra bay was added to the station.

    1992
    The first stage of new fire station was completed. The new fire station was constructed on the same site as the original site and included accommodation, catering lecture and recreational facilities in addition to the appliance garage.

    The second phase resulted in an extension to the appliance bay making the station a three appliance bay station and a refurbishment of the original station.

    The station was the only station was in the Service using the day-manning system. In February 1991 the station was upgraded to a whole time and retained duty system crewing system.